Come On, Ride My Brain

Catchy tagline here

  • My flickr

    Left Givi arm

    2003 ZRX1200R...right side

    2003 ZRX1200R...left side

    More Photos
  • recent.jds.del.icio.us

Recent movies

Posted by Jeremy Schultz on January 14, 2007

Before I go back to the sabbatical, I’ll tell you what’s on my mind of late. For one thing, Kimberly and I have been renting quite a few movies lately. The reasons for this are many: way cheaper (our awesome local video shop lets you buy a block of 10 rentals for $30), convenient (no driving, no gas burned, more money saved!), pause, fridge, and on and on. Some of our recent rentals include:

  • Memoirs of a Geisha – much better than I expected, awesome soundtrack, recommended – Japanese culture is fascinating, all they’ve accomplished from that small island, a history to be explored further….
  • Equilibrium – kinda Matrix/1984, a bit cheesy filming, but good story, recommended
  • An Inconvenient Truth – a little more about Al Gore than I expected (guy would’ve been elected easily if this had been made before the “election“), but this is a must see for everyone on Earth
  • Who Killed the Electric Car? – documentary about the death of the GM EV1 electric car, good view into the power of the oil/corporate lobby, very good
  • Tsotsi – story of a troubled gangster in South Africa, pretty gripping and a good insight into the juxtaposition of the rich and poor in that country, great stuff
  • Hotel Rwanda – story of the uprising that occurred in Rwanda in 1994 where an extremist group of Hutus kills the president and proceeds to kill 1 million Tutsis and others in one of the worst (the worst?) genocides of recent history, barely covered here in the U.S. – gives you an insight into the results of the ravaging endured by Africa from Europe, the US and other powers over the last few centuries – must see

There have definitely been more; we’re on our fourth block of movies! But these are the ones that left some kind of an imprint in my mind.

In any case, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about globalism, sustainability, urban planning and history. As I’m in the middle of my inward career search, it’ll be interesting to see where this goes.

4 Responses to “Recent movies”

  1. Rui said

    Pretty heavy stuff. I haven’t seen An Inconvenient Truth. How much would you characterize as solid fact vs hyperbole? I think the intent is correct, I would just be concerned about the “factualizing” of opinion if you know what I mean.

  2. jds said

    Good question, Rui! It would be hard to say where the fact ends and the hyperbole begins, but I think the range of data that he presents feels convincing. Some of the data is pretty staggering, but I don’t think he goes over the top in how he presents it. The examples that stick out in my mind are the number of glaciers he shows with a then and now picture; there were many that virtually disappeared over the last 30 or so years. But as you said, I think the intent is good. Most of solutions aren’t drastic on an individual level, they just need wide adoption to produce results. From almost any standpoint, energy efficiency is good for everybody. Definitely check it out!

  3. Rui said

    It is embarrassing that the US fights the rest of the world on this topic.

  4. […] Rwanda – ok, this one’s a true story, but if you haven’t seen it since I last recommended it, you still […]

Leave a Reply

 
