Come On, Ride My Brain

Catchy tagline here

  • My flickr

  • recent.jds.del.icio.us

New Belgium Trippel

Posted by Jeremy Schultz on November 3, 2007

Kimberly and I enjoy trying a variety of beers. As Portland has the highest number of microbreweries in the nation, we are well-positioned to get that variety!

However, we have a bad habit of trying something and then later forgetting if we liked it or not. Although there are sites such as RateBeer.com and a RateBeer Facebook app (piece of junk, links kept failing so I gave up), I’m just going to start keep track here.

Last week, we picked up a pack of New Belgium Trippel. On the sabbatical last year, our “beer tour” included Europe’s finest German (good), Italian (so-so), Belgian (world-class) and Irish (stout = great). The Belgian beers we tried, especially the Trappist variety, were easily our favorite. Any beer that successfully duplicates the smoothness and subtle sweetness of Belgian beers usually work for us.

The NB Trippel does this successfully. It’s already been a week since we had it, so I offer no rambling poem of adjectives for the taste. I’ll just say that I’d buy it again: two thumbs up.

3 Responses to “New Belgium Trippel”

  1. Jonathan said

    Jeremy,

    I’m the guy that made that Facebook app for rating beers (http://apps.facebook.com/ratebeer) that you mentioned. I’m guessing you probably tried to use it a few weeks ago, when it started having some major issues. I have since fixed the problems, and it has been working great since then. In fact, I’ve added a few new features and spiffed it up a bit too, as I will continue to do. Anyway, I hope you haven’t been turned off to it too much due to its crappy performance a couple weeks ago, and I hope you’ll try it out again. It really isn’t a piece of junk. 🙂

    Thanks,
    Jonathan

  2. Jeremy said

    Hi Jonathan, thanks for your comment! I’ll have to give it another shot sometime.

    Cheers!

  3. Rui said

    I like a beer that is more malty than hoppie. My favorites are Fosters and Heineken. Where do these beers rate in terms of hoppiness – that’s hoppiness and not necessarily happiness… 😉

Leave a Reply

 
